Something To Think About

I have been facing a dilemma for some time now, and I have yet to come up with a solution. I have a habit, you see, a very bad habit that seems to be common among a great portion of the world. Most people in their mid twenties to their mid thirties and the generation before that grew up with this bad habit, before there was ample research done to see just how bad it really is. Most who had wise parents who sought the information tried to stop their children from starting this bad habit before it became a life long grudgingly horrid constant in their lives, but growing up with it… Well that makes it hard, and when you grow up with friends that do it, it becomes appealing until you realize you too can’t seem to stop.

You see, I am a smoker. I have been trying to quit for a year almost. I’ve tried the cold turkey, I have tried patches and gums, I even managed once to quit. Sadly that was short lived and in vain, since at that time I was living with chainsmokers. It wasn’t long before I was back on the smoking bandwagon and feeling miserable all over again. The frustration of trying to quit something so addicting and the sensation of feeling so useless because every tactic doesn’t seem to work.. It can be very overwhelming for a person who just wants to be healthier and happier.

 

As the ongoing struggle continues, I keep reminding myself that one day I will be free of this habit. I will not give up on stopping, no matter how vain my attempts may be. I know that at the end of this long and dreadfully miserable journey, happiness and a healthier me is waiting.

7 thoughts on “Something To Think About

  1. first of all, stop beating yourself up for failing to quit. It is the hardest addiction to stop. second, talk to a doctor about options for medications that can help you quit. Third, get a smoke-freedom buddy…someone to encourage you while you are trying to quit. Hang in there kiddo. Suze

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ sometimes it’s hard but then there are moments like when I just read your comment and it reminds me that we are all human. We have moments of weakness, but so long as we strive to better ourselves and take strides to move forward, then at least we are trying instead of accepting defeat.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

