Smile Challenge Day 4

Smile Challenge Day 4 started off and has only proceeded to become awesome. So many things have made me smile. I woke up feeling refreshed and alive, but at the same time I was feeling sick on top of it. My kids being the amazing adorable tykes they are climbed onto the couch, they kept bouncing and hollering mommy until I sat on the couch. As soon as I sat down, my eldest tackled me and next thing I knew I was laying down and covered by a blanket. It was sweet, and adorable. Seconds later Marie had decided Mommy needed the blanket tucked in, just like Mommy always does when putting her down for bed. I was snuggled and cuddled by both babies, Celeste hugging the top of my head and drooling on my forehead as Marie lay on my chest, hugging me close. We lay on the couch watching Bones for I don’t even know how long. I had somehow fallen asleep and when I woke up Celeste was still by my head and Marie was sitting between my legs, just being a sweetheart. The moment she saw my eyes open, she smiled and said, “You ok mommy?” My girls warm my heart so much it is just unfathomable.

 

After I had gotten the kids lunch and put down for nap time, I stepped outside with my first cup of coffee for the day and my first cigarette and what should greet my eyes? The sight of parents out playing with their kids, squirrels chasing each other playing gleefully, and I came to realize that today… Today is just a wonderful day, no matter if I feel sick or not. There just seems to be something absolutely right about today. This put such a smile on my face that it felt like my smile was going to consume my entire face. It is a lovely day indeed.

Leave a Reply

