The What?

For me, both growing up and as an adult, the Beach isn’t a place I frequent. For some time, I actually lived near a beach of sorts. My friends used to frequent it, but I was more interested in the bugs in the sandbox at the top of the hill. For some reason, I just… I don’t like the beach. Maybe it has to do with the fact that I don’t like bathing suits. I don’t like how they look, how they feel, or how little they actually cover. It isn’t necessarily that I look bad in a bathing suit, my husband took me to a secluded beach area and even had me swim there but… I just don’t like it.

 

I think it may stem from one of the first times I was ever at a beach like body of water. Off in the distance was a island secluded away from the water and the only way to get there was via a motor boat of some sort. I had been maybe 6 or 7 I think at the time, and I thought it was a lot closer than it really was. I had managed to step into the water in my kiddie bathing suit and wandered around the sands edge for the most part. I kept stepping cautiously into the water, then finally I grabbed the courage to go into the water deeper and immediately face planted into the water. My eyes stung, my nose burned, my mouth filled with water and suddenly I could no longer breathe. The sensation was horrible, I wasn’t able to hear anyone calling out my name and from that day forward, I didn’t want to be near water.

 

The beach, for me, is a nightmare just waiting to happen. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to enjoy it the way so many others do. That coupled with my exceedingly pale complexion, I don’t really see myself visiting a beach for the rest of my life.

6 thoughts on “The What?

    • Haha I am what my husband fondly refers to as “Ghostly White” and often am compared to the whiteness of a piece of blank uncolored paper. As my husband so lovingly puts it, I don’t need sunscreen, I need latex paint LOL

      Your Acrostic is rather nicely put, I just wish 30 minutes in the sun didn’t absolutely murder me.

      Like

  1. I’m with you ST! The beach “sounds” nice, but the thought of going in the water or wearing a swimsuit is a big NO! for me. I almost drowned twice in my life, never learned to swim and am not a fan of deep water. Ironically Hubs was a WSI and lifeguard in his younger days and swims like a freaking fish.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

