You Warbling Bird!

I may have been a concert choir student, but I still to this day don’t believe I can sing. I have often referred to my attempts to sing as that of a warbling bird, trying to die. I originally started choir in 7th grade when I’d begun a new school and kept with it all the way until Freshman or Sophomore year in high school. I’d been told I had great potential and excellent vibrato, which must have been natural because I never actually tried to use it. During my school years, I remember spending many days in the shower singing my heart out like a total tweeb. I think a lot of people do that though, so hey I’m not completely insane! Just.. sort of.

 

To this day, I still enjoy singing even though I couldn’t sing to save my life. I’m constantly making up songs with my kids as the star and inspiration of my words. It must be something about being their mom, because it tends to calm them down whenever they’re upset. My favorite part of my day is when I’m dancing around with them, singing nonsensical lyrics to them and just having a blast. Often we will clear the living room, hold hands and just dance around and sing, mostly me singing while they giggle and squeal with delight. I don’t think there is anything more precious than quality time together, and this just happens to be one of the ways I get what I crave so much in life. A happy family.

Leave a Reply

