Splendid Christmas

I was waiting around for the kids to be ready for nap time when I took a peek at the Daily Prompt for today. Low and behold, it was Childhood. I’ve been talking a lot about childhood lately, it feels like. Honestly, I remember talking about how bad my childhood was. Sad part is, I was so far off. My childhood was actually pretty freaking awesome. Then again, I think most of us spend a good portion of our adolescence complaining about “how bad we had it” as a kid and a teen. Boy was I ever foolish to say such things, I had an awesome childhood that was filled with love, and as much happiness as my mom  could afford to spare.

My mom was and still is an amazing cook, she used to make home made breads, pancakes, cakes, those angel food cakes and stuff, all kinds of delicious pastries, and gosh the main courses were always to die for. You see, my mom is pretty much where I get the ideology that the fastest way to a persons heart is through their stomach. What screams, “I love you” louder than just saying it? A delicious home cooked meal that took time, effort, and your personalized individual touch to make it perfect. That is why they always say that the special ingredient in their food for their loved ones is exactly that, love. Without love, compassion, and an amazing sense of smell and taste, a meal is doomed to fail. My mom had an abundance of love, and it showed every time she made us dinner. 

Even when my mom was sick, she would cook dinner just so that we still knew she loved us, even though she didn’t feel well. The few times we ever ate out was when it was a special occasion or if she was too sick to cook, which she did her best to make sure rarely ever happened. When she was sick, she’d either lock herself in her room, or send us outside to play. Didn’t phase us any, sure I didn’t understand mom was sick but I did so love playing outside with my friends. I was the only person to single handedly challenge all the bigger kids for dominion over the playground, and I won every time. I can’t even count how many times people tried to challenge me just because I was young, or short, or a tiny stick figure of a kid. 

I think the best part of my childhood has to of been the holidays though. We never really did big gift exchanges or anything, we would have some presents under the tree from mom and I would have tried to get her something or make something because I thought it was more personal that way. I remember I once made her a bird house, a wall mailbox thingy, a cutting board, and a clip board. I don’t remember if I ever actually managed to make her the bowl I’d tried to make in woodshop class, I think it may have broken. What made holidays so special for me though was that it was when we all had to be in the house together, eating good food and watching movies as a family.

I remember one of the last Christmases I spent with my mom, it was 2004, we had celebrated in her room because that was where she had stashed the boxes and she was still wore out from working so much the past few months. I didn’t expect a lot, I knew my mom had been really busy trying to work as hard and as much as she could to make ends meet and ensure there was enough food in the house for her and I. To my surprise, she actually had managed to get some of the stuff I had really really wanted, which for me was easy because I didn’t usually want a whole lot to begin with. What I’d wanted for that Christmas was clothes. Drawl, I know, but it’s what I wanted, and my mom had managed to get me all the clothing I’d been drooling over at the Fashion Bug and the JCPenny’s !! 

It may seem odd but that was, and always will be, one of my favorite memories. Also, yes, the pictures are of me at different Christmases, the first two of my sister and I doing Christmas photos for mom. 🙂 

2 thoughts on “Splendid Christmas

  1. I LOVE this post! I loved seeing you “grow up” in pictures and read your memories……..and that smile! You have the most wonderful smile! I can’t help it, I end up grinning like mad whenever I see you smile.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha thank you 😀 I’m glad you enjoyed reading this post, I really enjoyed writing it. I don’t know what it is, but I just love remembering my childhood now that I look back on it and realize that oh my goodness I had a wonderful childhood. Sure, there were some bad times but gosh there were so many more good times than there were bad.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

