Past, Present, Future

I don’t know why, but when I think of the word playful it makes me think of my mom. Every weekend and every time she was off work, she would always try to make time to play with my sister and I. For being a single working mom with two kids, she was a pretty playful and energetic lady. It seemed that she had real pep in her step, especially when she was playing with us. We would have tickle fights, and water gun fights, and water balloon fights too. She was playful almost all the time, even after working late shifts because no one would come in or she knew the person coming in after her wouldn’t do much of squat. My mom was one of those overly responsible folk who, if she knew the next person after her would be a total slacker, she’d do her best to ensure when they came in, there was next to nothing to be done so that when she’d return the next day, she wouldn’t be so overly swamped with junk to get done.

 

Even now, now that I’m an adult, my mom still playfully teases and picks on me often. It’s fun, and always light hearted. She loves to pick on me and make jokes, and I’ll always love her for that. She showed me it’s possible to be a responsible parent and also have fun with your kids at the same time. I remember one time where I had been being a total butt nugget (one of her favorite names for me) and she had decided to lighten the mood by playfully sitting on me and tickling me until I nearly tinkled on the couch. One of the best things though was that she tried to help me with learning, by trying to turn it into a game that would actually grab my attention. Considering I have ADHD, learning wasn’t always the easiest thing in the world for me but she made it easier. She was one of the people that really helped me with reading too, she made it fun and showed me that you can really immerse yourself into a story and get drawn in. 

 

I have great plans for my kids futures in terms of being playful. For instance my husband has this idea that when the kids are old enough, we’re going to get 4 water soaker water guns and each of us will get one and we’re going to chase eachother through the house shooting one another. Who ever gets the least wet gets to be champion for the day and is excused of chores! Sounds like pretty good motivation but also a LOT of fun!

 

What are some of your most playful memories? I’d love to hear about them!

One thought on “Past, Present, Future

Leave a Reply

