Did It Change You?

So over the past few months, I’ve been asked a few questions that have actually made me think. I brought the idea up to some others and they thought that the questions and my answers would make for an interesting blog post, so here goes nothing. I am paraphrasing as best I can, so bare with me.

 

Q: What were your first thoughts when you became a mother for the first time? How did it change your perspective on life and did it change who you are as a person?

 

Q: Did having children after your first cause any hardships or challenges? How did having multiple children change how you viewed other parents of multiple children, and did it change you as an individual?

 

Q: When you met your husband for the first time, did you know that he would be your husband? Would you say he has had a negative or positive impact on who you are and in your life?

 

Q: After settling down and becoming a stay at home mom, did it change you as a person? Do you prefer being a stay at home mom, or do you wish you were still working?

 

Q: What are some of the challenges you face, being the forefront of your family when it comes to taking care of household needs such as cleaning, cooking, laundry, bills, and child rearing? Do you feel these challenges have altered your perspective on what it means to be a stay at home mom?

 

These questions were pretty intense to answer, and I only had a short period of time to answer them in, so I wanted to blog about it to go more indepth with my answers.

 

A: I honestly didn’t have time for any first thoughts when my son was born other than how amazingly beautiful he was. After he was born, I was immediately put on a new IV drip of magnesium, which knocked me out for the first 48 hours of his life. The only time I was even awake was during the changing of the bag and when they had me sign for his circumcision. Up until I had given birth to my son, I’d always been rather care free, not really a party person but always having the ability to go outside whenever I wanted without any form of attachments. After my son was born, I immediately sought out work and began a standard 9-5 job, working my rear end off day in and day out to provide for him and his father at the time. I would say it definitely had a major impact on my perspective of life, as well as who I was as a person.

 

A: At first, when my daughters were born, all I could think was ‘What would my son say if he found out I had children that I took care of when I couldn’t have him in my arms?’ I felt bad for becoming a mother to children that weren’t my son, even though I gave birth to them. With my girls though, I was able to breastfeed them and spend quality time with them which built the bond we have now. I’ve always thought of parents with multiple children to be magnificently blessed, and I was right! I’ve become more selfless since having my girls, not that I was ever really selfish to begin with.

 

A: When I first met my husband, I honestly didn’t know we would be married. We originally met in 2010, around Halloween. We were both working at Amazon Lex2 facility doing warehouse work. He was customer returns and I worked vendor returns, our departments literally sitting side by side in a giant warehouse. I adored him immediately, but had been told by someone else that he was seeing someone. Whenever I would see him, I would start jumping up and down, waving like a mad woman screaming, “HEY ALLAN!” loud enough for everyone to hear. I had the most humongous crush on him. To be honest, I’d say my husband has had a very positive effect on me. When we started dating on March 12th or 2012, I already knew I was madly in love with him and wanted to be with him for the rest of my life and it really helped me to strive to love who I am, because lets be real. You can’t truly expect someone to love you if you don’t love you.

 

A: Becoming a stay at home mom was probably one of the best decisions I ever made, and my husband has backed my decision from day one. I spend almost all of my day taking care of the kids, making sure they eat good healthy food and have fresh clean clothes to wear. Being a stay at home mom is a privilege, and one I don’t ever see myself taking advantage of. Sure working is good, but I think I would much rather be at home with my kids, teaching them and watching them grow.

 

A: Well, one of the major challenges is trying to get stuff done with the kids running around. I often find myself having to make appointments, pay bills, so on and so forth with children running after me and screaming like wild little animals. Taking care of the home isn’t really hard though, especially considering my husband helps me out with a lot of it. Bills is the only thing that is purely my domain, and I handle them like a boss! Considering the fact that my husband helps me a great deal with laundry, cooking, cleaning around the house, and taking care of the kids when he is at home, being a stay at home mom is a lot easier than I had originally anticipated. Then again, I got really lucky when I got married to my husband. Not many men actually help around the house, at least not from what I’ve heard from other women and other moms.

 

I’d like to read some of your responses to these questions, and if you’re up for answering, you can do so by either making your own post or replying in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “Did It Change You?

  1. I never had the opportunity to be a stay at home mom, and oh the things I have missed by having to work. My ex (their father) was flighty to say the least when it came to providing for us. He’d get a job, start doing wonderfully be offered promotions then quit in a snit..one job he had lasted all of two days. So I had to be the grownup in our family and work, and since I got paid approximately 1/3 of what he could earn I usually had two jobs at a time. The ONLY thing I ever envied was a mom’s ability to stay at home and raise her children. I think you are incredibly lucky to have the life you have.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

