Christmas Wishes

For a long time, all I wanted was to see my mom. The last time I saw her was the morning of January 28th, 2009. I remember it so clearly because it was the last time I saw her face as I walked out the door that fateful day, headed to the bus station which would inevitably take me to the airport. When I landed that night, it was blustery and blizzardy, snow falling all over the place. There I stood, on the sidewalk of the airport, twirling in the flurry of snow that filled the skies. I had started a new chapter of my life. 

 

In December I have birth to my first child, but had little to no contact with the woman I had parted from nearly a year prior. Honestly I think I may have called her a hand full of times between when I landed and when my son was born. It hadn’t yet dawned on me how much I missed her. Time went on, life became busy. I got job after job, moved from place to place. It wasn’t until I had my own two little girls that I began really noticing how the departure was impacting me. At first I thought that my depression was just coming back and with a vengeance, but it turned out to be something so much more.

 

I finally started picking up my phone and calling my mom every day shortly after she had a major scare in her life. I know it should have dawned on me sooner to do this, but with having two little ones I didn’t have much time for even myself, let alone a call to my mom. Low and behold, I rearranged my schedule so that I could make time. They always say that for the things most important in life, you have to make time. They’re right. I used to think that it was merely hyperbole, but there is truth in it. The fear of losing my mom made me realize something important that my uncle recently said to me.

 

Don’t hold off on something that can be done today. Tomorrow isn’t promised, so do what you can and do it now.

 

So I took the plunge. I finally get to have the one Christmas present I want, and have wanted, for some while now. For the first time in nearly 8 years, I get to see my mommy! She will be flying out here for a few days during my husband’s Christmas vacation, courtesy of his amazing job.

 

So many helped me through it, the stress and frustration. I wanted to say thank you for everything, it meant the world to me that so many wanted to help ease the burden. I am so blessed to have the family and friends I have. 

 

I cannot wait to see my mom this Christmas, it really is the most perfect gift I could have asked for.

8 thoughts on “Christmas Wishes

Leave a Reply

