A Fast Fixit Recipe

A couple days back I was expecting company. I had invited someone over with the intent of making a nice wholesome dinner that all could enjoy. It wasn’t terribly spicy but had the perfect kick of flavor! I had tried the recipe before and decided it needed to be kicked in the fanny and given some extra zest. The original dish recipe was as follows

 

3/4 Cup long grain rice

1 Cup water

1 Can Campbell’s Cream Of Mushroom Soup

1 Teaspoon Paprika

1 Teaspoon Pepper

2 Boneless Chicken Breast

 

Sounds simple and sort of bland! I tried it out and sure enough it was rather tasteless. The second time I made it, I made some alterations, after all, who likes bland food? I certainly don’t! The alterations were great, but I had left out the cream of mushroom soup, both because I forgot to and I wasn’t sure whether it dulled or accentuated the flavors. It was great but the rice was dry. I was dismayed. My husband said it tasted great none the less, so when I had decided to invite company over and they had given a semi positive response, along I went with preperations! It wasn’t until 5pm, about the time I needed to put the food in the oven, that I realized company wasn’t coming. Not so much as a phone call or Facebook message, just absolute appalling silence. So I added something extra to the recipe that I knew those who I had invited wouldn’t like but my husband and I would enjoy. I thought I would share the recipe here, as it was one I cooked up myself, with the help of an originally blandish starting point.

 

1 1/2 Cups Long Grain Rice

2 Cups Water

1 Package of Bacon (16 slices)

2 Cans Cream Of Mushroom Soup

4 Chicken Breasts

4 oz Mozzarella cheese

Seasoned to taste with : White Pepper, Garlic Powder, Paprika, Italian Seasoning and Chicken Seasoning

 

The way I went about it was I took a long 2.5 inch deep glass cooking dish, poured the rice then water, mixed in the cream of mushroom soup until it was a nice consistency. I chopped up the bacon into smallish pieces and cooked the bacon. Once fully cooked, added them to the mix, stirring until the bacon is evenly distributed throughout the ricey cream of mushroom mixture.

 

When prepping the chicken, I like to make sure it is raw and not frozen. I take the chicken seasoning and sprinkle it on, then rub it into the meat on both sides. Once the chicken has been fully rubbed, I add a dousing of paprika. Just a light dust of paprika over the entire rice and cream of mushroom soup mixture is good. I like to do the same with the white pepper, as a little goes a long way. For the garlic and Italian seasoning however, I like a good nice thin coating over the rice. Mix it in nicely, then lay the chicken breasts over top the rice.

 

Put in the oven for approximately 30 minutes, then flip the chicken over and add  a light sprinkle of cheese over the chicken. This keeps the chicken from dying out and gives it a nice cheesy topping. Put back into the oven for another 30-45 minutes depending on whether your chicken had been frozen and size of chicken breasts.

 

 

1485640979250

My Ricey Chicken Creation

2 thoughts on “A Fast Fixit Recipe

Leave a Reply

