Delightful Bites

When I think of the word snack, I immediately think of my kids. I know, how cliche, right? A mom thinking of her kids when they hear words. It’s so passe. Tough, because that’s exactly what happened and I’m going to tell you a little bit about why!

 

So the past few days, I’ve been in a rut. My depression got the better of me and it made everything seem so drawl and drab, like nothing had any meaning. I’m sure so many others can relate to that feeling, so I’m going to share what I did to bring myself right back out of it! I had started reading into baking, first starting off small with pre-made cake mixes into cookies and such. They were awesome to the max.

Red Velvet White Chocolate Chip

My First Cookies!

 

Then I got the idea, this wild hair up my tuckas as I like to call it. I wanted to bake from scratch. So I dug. I searched. I read recipe after recipe. I finally stopped at a Betty Crocker Oatmeal Raisin cookie recipe. It was simple, to the point, quick and easy! Or so I had thought. I made my first batch and all were delighted, though I had tweaked the recipe a tad. As my husband was getting ready to go to work, I tweaked the recipe yet again. I fear I may have created a monster in my hunt for the perfect homemade cookie. I wanted something that would be a great snack, but that had some healthy parts to it. What I ended up with was a mountain of cookies that went what felt like a mile high.

 

Mama's Homemade Cookies

Look at those golden edges! Yum!

 

Now for the good part. The recipe! I jotted down as I cooked and mixed, so you’re lucky!Β 

 

1/2 C Sugar
1/4 C Brown Sugar
1/2 C Melted Butter
1/2 tsp Vanilla
1 Egg
4 Oz Warmed Peanut Butter

 

3/4 C Flour
1/2 tsp Baking Soda
1/2 tsp Cinnamon
1/4 tsp Salt

 

1 1/2 Quaker Oats
1/2 C Raisins
1/4 C Chocolate Chips

 

Preheat Oven at 375 ΒΊ

Everything is separated out per which steps get done first, then second, and finally last steps. When you start making it, mix the sugar, brown sugar, butter, vanilla, egg, and peanut butter together. Once you’ve got it nicely mixed it should have a creamy caramel colored look to it. That’s when you can add the flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. It’ll become a thick caramel-like texture, like watching caramel drip deliciously onto a pan. At that moment, you know that it’s perfect and can finally mix in the oatmeal, raisins, and chocolate chips. I used a silicon spatula to fold the oatmeal, raisins and chocolate chips into the gooey delicious cookie dough. Once it’s nicely mixed together, then you can pop them into the oven! Parchment paper is definitely a must, or else you’ll end up wasting a lot of soap and water. I suggest getting an ice-cream shaped scoop that is actually called a “cookie-scoop”. They make perfectly sized cookies, every time! Give them 10-12 minutes in the oven and they should be ready! Here was my first batch!

 

First Batch!

They certainly smelled super delicious!

 

I let them chill in the refrigerator for a good ten minutes before putting them on the plate and moving on to the next set of ten. Happy baking and I hope you enjoy these delightful snacks!

6 thoughts on “Delightful Bites

  1. Those cookies look amazing!!!! I’m glad you found baking to get you out of your “depression rut.” I just blogged about depression this week. And, snacks for my kids today. You should check out my blog! I think we have a lot in common πŸ˜‰ I’m going to share this post today and I hope it puts a smile on your face! Thanks for the recipe and the inspiration to bake some cookies later (okay…my KIDS really thank you for that part! hehe)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

